Who was the president of Zimbabwe from 1980 to 2017?

Who was the president of Zimbabwe from 1980 to 2017?

Presidents of Zimbabwe (1980–present)

No. President Took office
1 Canaan Banana (1936–2003) 18 April 1980
2 Robert Mugabe (1924–2019) 31 December 1987
3 Emmerson Mnangagwa (born 1942) 24 November 2017

Who became the president of Zimbabwe after 1980?

Canaan Sodindo Banana (5 March 1936 – 10 November 2003) was a Zimbabwean Methodist minister, theologian, and politician who served as the first President of Zimbabwe from 1980 to 1987.

Who led Zimbabwe Rhodesia between 1979?

Zimbabwe Rhodesia
Government Parliamentary republic
• 1979 Josiah Zion Gumede
Prime Minister

What happened to Ian Smith?

He remained in Zimbabwe until 2005, when he moved to Cape Town, South Africa, for medical reasons. After his death two years later at the age of 88, his ashes were repatriated and scattered at his farm.

Who is the current leader of Zimbabwe?

Emmerson Mnangagwa

Who governs Zimbabwe?


Office Name Since
President Emmerson Mnangagwa 24 November 2017
Vice-President Constantino Chiwenga 28 December 2017

What is the new name of Zimbabwe?

On 1 June 1979, Muzorewa, the UANC head, became prime minister and the country’s name was changed to Zimbabwe Rhodesia.

How old is Ianisuglyy?

More Facts of ianisuglyy

Full Name: Ian Smith
Born Date: 05 Nov, 1999
Age: 21 years
Horoscope: Scorpio
Lucky Number: 8

When did Ian Smith die?

November 20, 2007
Ian Smith/Date of death

Which party is ruling over Zimbabwe?

The Zimbabwe African National Union – Patriotic Front (ZANU–PF) is a political organisation which has been the ruling party of Zimbabwe since independence in 1980.

Who was the Prime Minister of Zimbabwe in 1979?

Ian Smith. A transfer of power in the government to the blacks was initiated in 1978, and Smith was a member of the Transitional Executive Council that oversaw the process. He remained prime minister until May 1979 and then served as minister without portfolio in the black majority government of Zimbabwe-Rhodesia from May to December 1979.

Who is the head of government in Zimbabwe?

The President of Zimbabwe is the highest office in the executive branch of the country’s government. The president is head of state of Zimbabwe, elected by direct universal suffrage using a two-round system. Formerly a ceremonial role, the president is now also the head of government. The president serves a maximum of two five-year terms.

Who was the first black president of Zimbabwe?

In 1979 there was an Internal Settlement, which saw a black majority government for the first time, and the country was renamed Zimbabwe Rhodesia. Josiah Zion Gumede was chosen as President.

Who was the acting president of Zimbabwe before Mnangagwa?

Mphoko may have been acting President of Zimbabwe for three days until Mnangagwa’s accession to the presidency. However, as Mphoko was not in the country at the time, and due to the unusual circumstances, any official standing on this is unclear and may never be known.

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top