How many countries make up Africa?

How many countries make up Africa?

Africa is made up of 54 fully recognized sovereign states (countries), ten territories and two de facto independent states with limited or no recognition. The 54 are referred to as “recognized states” because they are member states of the African Union (AU).

Why are the 54 countries in Africa called recognized states?

The 54 are referred to as “recognized states” because they are member states of the African Union (AU). The next 2 are called “de facto states” because, by structure and government, they can be called a country but they are not recognized as they do not belong to the AU.

How many countries does Africa have by virtue of name?

Many people are looking for how many countries does Africa have now. By counting only the politically independent and recognized countries, they would be 54. However, all the countries by virtue of name are 56. Why so? This is because, besides the 54 legally know countries, we have other two that are still struggling to get recognition.

Are there any non African countries in Africa?

Territories politically administered as external dependencies or as incorporated parts of a primarily non-African state: 1. French Southern Antartica Land. 2. Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan de Cuhna, (governed by the UK). 3. The Canary Islands. 4. Melila 5. Autonomous city of Ceuta, (nos 3-5 owned by Spain). 6.

Which is the most populous country in Africa?

The most populous country in Northern Africa is Egypt, which has a total population of more than 102 million. The least populous county in the subregion is Libya, with around 6.87 million people. All the countries of Northern Africa identify themselves as Arab and Muslim countries.

Which is the second largest country in Africa?

There are 54 recognized states, and two states whose independence is disputed (Western Sahara and Somaliland). The United Nations states that there are 54 countries in Africa. Africa is the second largest continent in the world, both by land area and population. By land area, Algeria is the largest country on the continent.

How many sovereign states are there in Africa?

It lists 56 sovereign states (54 of which are member states of the United Nations ), two non-sovereign (dependent) territories of non-African sovereign states, and nine sub-national regions of non-African sovereign states.

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top